Board of Directors and Corporate Governance

Board of Directors

Board member

Ívar Kristjánsson

Ívar Kristjánsson joined the Board of Directors of Origo hf. (formerly Nýherji hf.) as a principal director in March 2016. He is Managing Director of 1939 Games, Chairman of the Board of RVX and sits on the Board of the Icelandic Gaming Industry (member of the Federation of Icelandic Industries).

Ívar studied Business Administration at the University of Iceland and has completed an MBA degree from the University of Reykjavik. He is one of the founders of CCP hf. and worked there for 17 years. He was the CEO of CCP when EVE Online was released in 2003, but spent most of his time at CCP as Chief Financial Officer.

Board member

Hildur Dungal

Hildur Dungal joined the Board of Directors of Origo hf. (formerly Nýherji hf.) in February 2011. Hildur holds a Cand. Jur. law degree from the University of Iceland. She previously headed the Directorate of Immigration in Iceland, worked for a number of years at the Ministry of Justice, and currently serves as a Senior Legal Advisor to the Administration of the Ministry of Transport and Local Government. Hildur has been on the boards of several companies and is currently an alternate member of the Board of Icelandic State Financial Investments (ISFI).

Board member

Gudmundur Jóhann Jónsson

Guðmundur Jóhann Jónsson became an alternate director of Origo hf. (formerly Nýherji hf.) in 1999 and has since served as either a principal or alternate director of the Company.

Currently serving as CEO of the Vörður insurance company, Guðmundur graduated in Business Administration from Seattle University in 1985 and completed an MBA degree from the University of Edinburgh in 2000. In addition to Origo, he has served on the boards of several other companies. He is a member of the Board of the Iceland Chamber of Commerce.

Board member

Hjalti Thórarinsson

Hjalti Thórarinsson joined the Nýherji Board of Directors as a deputy board member in March 2017 and became Chairman of the Board in March 2020 . He studied Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Iceland between 1995-1998 and holds an MBA degree from MIT. In 1998 Hjalti co-founded Dímon Software. He was made Director of Sales at Microsoft in 2013, leading a team of account managers responsible for the Think relationship on the Lenovo account team. Currently, Hjalti serves as Director of Business Development in Microsoft's AI division.

Board member

Svafa Grönfeldt

Svafa Grönfeldt joined the Origo Board of Directors in March 2019. Svafa serves as a Senior Advisor to the Dean of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and holds a PhD degree from the London School of Economics. She has previously held the positions of Executive Vice President at Alvogen, President of Reykjavik University and Deputy to the CEO of Actavis. Svafa is a board member of Össur and serves as a mentor for the MITDesignX venture accelerator program at MIT.

Corporate Governance

The Board of Directors of Origo adheres to the Guidelines on Corporate Governance issued by the Iceland Chamber of Commerce, the Iceland Stock Exchange and the Confederation of Icelandic Employers in June 2015.

The purpose of the Guidelines is to:

Promote good corporate governance in Iceland.
Make it easier for company directors and managers to fulfil their duties and thus contribute to the growth and success of the companies they are entrusted to lead.
Build trust in companies and business generally.
Build trust between investors and company leaders.
Improve the competitiveness of Icelandic business by ensuring that corporate governance in Iceland broadly adheres to the principles followed in neighbouring countries.
Give investors a clearer picture of the corporate governance practices of Icelandic businesses to assist them in evaluating investment options.
Give Icelandic businesses better access to funding in Iceland and abroad.
Corporate Governance

Committees and Compliance Officer

Promote good corporate governance in Iceland.
Members of the Audit Committee: Guðmundur Jóhann Jónsson, Ívar Kristjánsson and Jón Gunnsteinn Hjálmarsson
Members of the Remuneration Committee: Hildur Dungal, Ívar Kristjánsson and Svafa Grönfeldt.
Members of the Nomination Committee: Eyþór Ívar Jónsson, Hanna María Jónsdóttir and Hildur Dungal.
The Compliance Officer of Origo is Arna Hrönn Ágústsdóttir and Gunnar Petersen r is the Deputy Compliance Officer.
Monday - Friday08:00AM-04:00PMPhone: 516-1000
Store at Borgartún 37105 Reykjavík
Workshop and productKöllunarklettsvegur 8104 Reykjavík
Monday - Friday09:00AM-05:00PM
Other LocationsAkureyriÍsafjörðurNeskaupsstaðurEgilsstaðir
Origo, Borgartún 37, 105 Reykjavík, kt: 530292-2079. Tel: 516 1000
2020 by Origo Group. All rights reserved.
ÍslenskaPrivacy Policy